Client Reviews

Pie Lady
The Afton "Pie Lady" gets a new kitchen for her beloved cabin, Afton MN
A whole house remodel has reawakened this one-level-living home, Edina
Thoughtfully remodeling a little at a time can eventually completely restore a home.
Voted “2010 Best of the Decade” by the MN chapter of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry
Great results occur when you hire an experienced remodeler, Maple Grove MN
Each remodeling project provides its own unique challenges - and solutions, Minneapolis
A great experience with a kitchen remodel can lead to other fun remodeling projects, St. Paul
A successful remodel starts with a successful team, Minneapolis

Client Reviews

Our client reviews are from an eclectic group of individuals who all, at one time or another, had a desire for changing their lives through the remodel or creation of their home. We appreciate their confidence in us and value their friendship. To see the one-year, two-year and ten-year Home Improvement Warranties, click on: “Minnesota Statutory Warranties”

 

 

 

Visit our Guild Quality profile page.

 

 

Read what others are saying about Vujovich

 

Angies List client reviews         Frank M.        10/12/2016         Overall Grade: A

Vujovich has helped us with several projects over the years. We have come to expect the exceptional work that their team provides. As we entertain guests in our house we have learned that not all companies are equal. They are experts.

 

accredited Business         Hank C.        10/11/2016         POSITIVE Experience

Vujovich Design Build does not cut corners and believes in providing customer satisfaction with every aspect of their involvement in each project.

 

google-logo     Google User.      10/10/2016     5-stars Houzz

We had no idea a Design Build organization could be so professional!  They communicated with us so effectively throughout the process.

 

google-logo     Derek K.      9/13/2016     5-stars Houzz

My wife and I have used Vujovich twice. They remodeled the outside of our Nokomis home and years later after we moved we had them open up two beams inside our East Isles home. Both while retaining the character of the older homes. They finished the jobs on time with premium craftsmanship and very good communication throughout the process.

 

Houzz client reviews     Frankie H.      8/20/2016     5-stars Houzz

I was impressed with everything from our original discussion to the walk through. They had very creative solutions to our issue, billing was easy, and payment was easy as well.

 

google-logo     Ashlee A.      8/10/2016     5-stars Houzz

We have a history of interactions with Vujovich Design Build.  It is like Peter had a vision all along.  The finished product is a masterpiece.  The craftsmanship and materials came together into one very beautiful space.

 

google-logo     Bernie J.      7/8/2016     5-stars Houzz

VDB (Vujovich Design Build) did a great job with our bathroom remodel.  This is our second project with them and another project on budget and on time.  Thank you Vujovich.

 

Houzz client reviews     Bernie J.      6/20/2016     5-stars Houzz

I was most satisfied with the professionalism, accuracy, timeliness, and customer service. They took care of all the issues and details involved with the remodeling project.

 

google-logo     Ann B.      6/2/2016     5-stars Houzz

We used Vujovich to remodel a 1970’s condo in Minneapolis.  They did an excellent job, kept me informed of everything and had awesome project manager and designer.  Would highly recommend. They were a little on the high price side but worth it to get the great service and timely finish.

 

Houzz client reviews     Erin N.      11/3/2015     5-stars Houzz

“So many reasons to go with this company. They are highly skilled, uber respectful, hands on, caring, and careful. There were no major “whoops” that came up – even with our 1930’s era home – and a year later, they are always there for questions and follow-up. All of this has resulted in a “WOW” remodel that looks/feels/acts modern yet also totally in-line with the neighborhood. We hear rave reviews from previously skeptical neighbors, friends, strangers…even requests for magazine and blog features.”

 

accredited Business         Anna P.        3/25/2015         POSITIVE Experience

We have had Vujovich complete two projects and have been extremely pleased with their work! Would highly recommend them to anyone with a project – big or small.

 

accredited Business         Gale S.        3/23/2015         POSITIVE Experience

I first used Vujovich in 1986 and attribute the recent quick sale of my home (3 days) to the exquisite work Vujovich did over the years. Projects include a family room/kitchen and master bedroom remodel; addition of a screen porch; turning a 1900 basement into a bedroom/ bath/family room suite; adding a bath on the main floor and a redo of the front entrance. I can’t recommend them highly enough. Easy to work/partner and craftsmanship of the highest order.

 

Angies List client reviews         David W.        1/28/2015         Overall Grade: A

Project Description:  Condo Remodel:  Designed and constructed new kitchen, dining area, hallway and one bathroom.  New floor, cabinets, appliances, lights, sinks, tile, curtains, paint and finished interior doors.

Member Comments: I am totally happy with the result.  I have never financed a project like this so I cannot comment on the price relative to other projects.  I could afford it and Vujovich was totally up front about the basic cost and all change orders.   Hire Again: Yes

 

Houzz client reviews     Mike J.      6/3/2014     5-stars Houzz

Tom and the guys were fantastic. My job was a small one yet they treated it like was their most important. Two thumbs up!

 

Angies List client reviews        Robin R.      3/23/2014       Overall Grade: A

Project Description:  Extensive remodel of 1929 home – kitchen, family room were gutted.  The rest of the house was cosmetic.

Member Comments:  Vujovich gave us excellent suggestions with low, middle, high budget options for solving functional problems in the house.  Stuck to budget.  Excellent communication, excellent project manager – Craig! Ask for him!  Excellent team in general.  Vujovich was willing to work with my flooring subcontractor and Direct Buy membership for plumbing and electrical supplies without grumbling or resentment.  I was overwhelmed with how smooth this project went.  Will certainly hire them again if I ever do another renovation.

 

Angies List client reviews        Joyce L.      3/18/2014       Overall Grade: A

Project Description:   Completely remodeled the upstairs of the home, including new kitchen, new wood railings going upstairs & downstairs, removed beams in the living room and master bedroom, removed wood paneling in dining & living room, installed new tile floor in the entry, installed new front door & garage door, painted all the rooms upstairs and the family room & hall downstairs, removed popcorn ceilings upstairs and made flat, replaced cement garage floor, repaired rot damage to the outside of the home, found where mice were entering the home and fixed the problem, painted the trim on the outside of the house, installed new windows in the kitchen and sliding glass door in dining room, installed two new storm doors, painted the trim on the outside of the home, stained the deck, installed new light fixtures and hardware throughout the upper level, replaced light switches & furnace vents, installed carpeting throughout both levels of the home.

Member Comments:  Vujovich worked at the house for approximately 5 months.  A project manager, Paul, was assigned to oversee the remodel and was there every day.  Beth, the designer, knew what I wanted before I did, and Chris, my main contact, was extremely responsive to my every request and continues to be to this day.  I am very pleased with the end results and with the Vujovich employees assigned to my project!

 

Angies List client reviews        Lois L.      2/18/2014       Overall Grade: A

Project Description:   Vujovich Design Build, Inc. installed new windows and new ceiling.

Member Comments:  They did quality work.  They just did fine quality work, they were very helpful, they were accommodating and they were patient with my in-decisions

 

Angies List client reviews        Derek K.      1/20/2014       Overall Grade: A

Project Description:   Created a more open layout with the living room and dining room with better views of the front windows.  Load bearing walls were opened by use of I-beams, but the whole project kept the character of the hundred year old house.

Member Comments:  Excellent.  Great sub-contractors.  Top quality work and care.

 

Houzz client reviews     Paula L.      12/05/2013     5-stars Houzz

My husband and I hired Vujovich Design Build to build a home on a vacant lot that we owned in South Minneapolis. We had relatives that were repeat customers of Vujovich and knew they had a good reputation.

We started working with Ed Roskowinski, the General Manager, reviewing our home design. We appreciated his process during the proposal phase because he line-itemized their prices, making it easy for us to understand where our money was going and how to make choices to impact the budget. Ed was extremely knowledgeable, experienced and easy to work with. He helped us navigate the whole design-build process and the many decisions and budget related items that we had to make. He explained the many aspects of the build process that were foreign to us as we had never done this before. During the build phase, Ed went out to the job site several times, even though we had a dedicated project manager, to make sure the work was being done properly and course corrected when needed.

Their staff designer, Beth Malmberg, was great to work with as well. I shared my Houzz Idea books and discussed the overall look I was trying to achieve. In our next meeting, Beth had put together selections for the whole house, including paint colors and tiles. I was blown away. She had nailed what I was looking for and 90% of what she had selected in that first meeting is in my house today. She made herself available throughout the build phase to help work through and design decisions where we needed extra input. Creating the house was really a fun process. Beth has a great design eye and helped us create a home that we really love.

Paul Grachek, our project manager, was also a very experienced, talented and personable individual to work with. He was extremely responsive to our many on-going requests. He worked very hard to keep the subcontractors on schedule and moving ahead. After we moved into the home in March 2013, Paul was there on a regular basis finishing the punch list. He was like another member of our family.

The build process was expected to take 6.5 months and Vujovich came within 2 weeks of their original estimate. As you would expect with a whole house build, a few snafus came up along the way. Vujovich always stood behind their work and went the extra mile to take care of us.

We completed the project having an enormous amount of respect for the Vujovich Team and we would highly recommend them to anyone looking to build or remodel a home in the Twin Cities area.

 

Angies List client reviews        Shirley A.      9/03/2013       Overall Grade: A

Project Description:  The design team transformed our 1970’s split level into an updated bungalow inspired home.  The remodeling project included a new entryway, windows, roof and James Hardie siding.

Member Comments:  It was a pleasure to work the Vujovich Design Build team.  From the initial design to construction completion, they treated our remodeling project as if this was their own home.  We were appreciative of their attention to details, whether is was in helping us to pick out the new house color or making sure that the replacement windows would fit with the existing window treatments.  Care was given to daily clean up as well as keeping us informed of the upcoming schedule.  We especially enjoyed the creative input of our Project Manager.  He offered several on the spot design ideas that personalized our homes’ exterior.   The subcontractors were equally as professional and pleasant to work with.  Despite several weather related delays, our Project Manager was able to complete our remodel right on schedule.  We look forward to working with Vujovich Design Build on our next project.

 

Yelp client reviews      Karin B.      5/28/2013      5-stars yelp

From our first discussion about our hopes for our project to the final details, Vujovich Design Build has been fantastic to work with. They listen, they are incredibly responsive, they have wonderful ideas, and they have integrity! They are sensitive to the disruption and stress that a project can bring, and they do everything they can to minimize the impact – we lived in our house during the entire project! Our project manager and everyone they brought into our home cared about our project and did beautiful, high-quality work. Vujovich goes the extra mile – I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone and we will most definitely use them again!

 

Houzz client reviews     SALA Architects      5/28/2013     5-stars Houzz

Vujovich is a superb contracting firm that has done numerous projects with the clients of our architectural firm. Their attention to detail and craft is unsurpassed. They truly understand good design and work diligently to make sure the design ideas on paper turn into fully realized spaces. I highly recommend their services, and look forward to working with them again soon.

 

Yelp client reviews     Sheila M.      5/23/2013      5-stars yelp

I have been a mortgage broker with Guaranteed Rate in St. Louis Park with over twenty years experience. Vujovich has been an outstanding builder working with many of my better homes and clients over the years. I have had extensive experience with them and would highly recommend them. Beth Malmberg is an exceptional person to work with from conception to completion of your project.

 

Yelp client reviews     Dodie K.      5/19/2013      5-stars yelp

At the suggestion of friends, we hired Vujovich Design-Build to renovate our condominium and we are extremely pleased with the result. The professionals at Vujovich, along with the architect they chose for our project, helped us think through the design and the selection of products. Throughout the process they were creative, understanding, attentive and patient. They stayed within the budget we established and since completing the renovation they have provided timely and responsive follow up. Working with Vujovich has been a pleasant and fun experience. We recommend them highly.

 

Angies List client reviews

     John K.      5/19/2013       Overall Grade: A

 

Project Description: Condominium Renovation

Member Comments: At the suggestion of friends, we hired Vujovich Design-Build to renovate our condominium and we are extremely pleased with the result. The professionals at Vujovich, along with the architect they chose for our project, helped us think through the design and the selection of products. Throughout the process they were creative, understanding, attentive and patient. They stayed within the budget we established and since completing the renovation they have provided timely and responsive follow up. Working with Vujovich has been a pleasant and fun experience. We recommend them highly.

 

Yelp client reviews     Jesse K.      5/14/2013      5-stars yelp

Excellent Company to work with.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Nancy V.      5/13/2013      Overall Grade: A

 

Project Description: Bought my house in July 1991, huge snowstorm that fall (100 years storm on Halloween) resulted in my living room ceiling cracking down the length of it, plus dormer window above front door tilting down. “Do it yourself” main support put in by previous owner had cracked as a result of the weight of the snow.
Member Comments: Vujovich jacked up my living room, replaced the support, sheet rocked my living room ceiling, put in ceiling molding trim, painted the ceiling and living room, and did tuck-point (brick) repair on my chimney. Their work straightened every line in the living room, upstairs, and outside dormer window. Work was done in about a week, and there was no sheet rock or other dust anywhere in the house. At that point I barely knew how to mow a lawn, so I was a pretty clueless customer. Over the years I have appreciated the incredible value and quality of what they did.

 

Yelp client reviews     Mike C.      5/5/2013      5-stars yelp

Very professional from beginning to end. I was a little surprised at the construction schedule (10 weeks) for a Kitchen remodel. I thought it would not take that long, and it would be a pain to be without our Kitchen. They assured me that it just takes that long. They showed up on the first day, and every day thereafter. There was no “down time” to speak of, and the project was completed on schedule. The subs all did exactly as we had envisioned, and the final product is just what we had hoped. I still like to just sit in my new Kitchen and look! There were a few glitches along the way (as you might expect). They were all handled expertly with very little concern on my part. I would highly recommend Vujovich. They were great to work with.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Mike C.      5/1/2013

 

Project Description: Complete Kitchen remodel, including floors, cabinets, appliances, countertops and ceiling work. Old hardwood floor removed and stone installed from front door Foyer through Kitchen and into back entry and Powder Room. Electrical work to redesign lighting adding spots and additional pendants, under cabinet lighting and lighted cabinets. Move the sink from an outside wall to the island with associated plumbing moves. Install of gas service to convert electric stove to gas cook top. Install of cabinetry with granite countertops. Install of all new appliances. Removed old Pantry and pass through window into the Sunroom.

Member Comments: Met with Tom Zerull and Mark Rustin to discuss the project and its scope. Planned for a first week of January beginning date. I removed the old cabinets and appliances. We were on vacation during most of the demolition in mid January (on purpose). While dust protection walls were put up to contain the dust from the drywall work, this was not really effective in containing the mess. I have done drywall myself in the past, so I was not surprised. I was impressed with the tile work. This was done efficiently and it looks great. This includes the backsplash. We saw a special design that we liked for above the cook top. I laid it out on my workbench in the garage, and the tile guy copied it exactly as we had planned it without ever actually speaking to each other. A couple of the cabinets were either wrong, or damaged when they were unpacked. These were replaced and installed without adding time to the project. We worked with All Inc. to design the cabinets, etc. and they were great! Gave us some wonderful ideas. We did have some problems with the double oven. It never worked right from the beginning. After replacing parts three times, they did replace the entire unit, and it works fine now. We did have one oven that worked during this time, so it was not a big deal. The project was finished on time. The subs all showed up on time and Mark Rustin was a true professional. He managed the flow, and there was rarely a day that someone was not at the house working (no down time to speak of). He cleaned up after himself every day, and after the demolition phase, the mess was negligible. Mark did most of the finish carpentry, and it looks excellent. As an amateur carpenter myself, I know it when I see it. Joints are perfect, and the finishes seamless. In retrospect, it was not as painful as we had imagined being without a kitchen.
We had a few cost ads to the project that were not anticipated. One was a heating duct that was in the Pantry wall that needed to be moved. This was an unusual placement in a relatively new house (12 years old), and I don’t think they could have known this before hand. The second was a special bevel that had to be done by hand on the granite countertop. We had designed special corners on the island. The standard bevel that they could do with a machine did not look right, so we decided to pay the extra expense. The last cost add was a support for under the overhang on the bar surface on the island. The total ads were about $1000 for the project.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Ruth H.      4/22/2013

 

Project Description: Vujovich transformed two bedrooms, a tiny closet and bathroom into a master suite that we love. The wall between two bedrooms was removed expanding the space. The bathroom was reconfigured and expanded. It went from a tiny shower stall, single sink and toilet to a large walk in shower, double sink vanity with extensive storage, and a toilet area. A large walk in closet was also created.
Member Comments: Our experience was wonderful. Ed worked with us in creating a space that worked for us and within our budget. The communication was very comfortable. He listened and revised the plan as needed. Everything went exactly as scheduled. Paul was our on-site manager and was great in keeping everything on track and us informed of the progress. The quality of the work was exceptional. The greatest attribute of Vujovich is its people. Everyone we worked with not only provided quality craftsmanship, but was polite and respectful of us and our home.

 

Yelp client reviews     Dennis Q.      4/18/2013      5-stars yelp

Awesome experience. Have contracted with Vujovich twice now – to do a kitchen remodel and finish a basement. Both experiences were excellent. Very professional. They never leave a client in the dark, always advising of the timeline and any delays. Both times the project was completed on time and we were more than satisfied with the outcome on each project. What is unique about Vujovich is that they are very creative – they come up with unique ideas that make something like finishing a basement look different than what most basements look like. Great company to work with from A to Z! You can’t go wrong!

 

Angies List client reviews

     Carl T.      4/18/2013

 

Project Description: Dismantled existing kitchen center island and designed, built and installed new kitchen center island.
Rebuilt cabinets from old kitchen center island and installed in garage as workbench and storage unit.
Replaced kitchen countertops.
Resurfaced Great Room fireplace installing marble tile over existing limestone.
Remodeled Powder Room including installing marble tile on walls, mirror and light fixtures.
Resurfaced side of Master Bathroom tub.

Member Comments: We can’t say enough good things about Peter and his team, particularly Craig Porter, our project manager. They listened to us, understood what we wanted and were extremely patient with us throughout the process even as we changed designs and products. Peter wanted to make sure we got what we wanted even more than we did.
Peter’s creativity was of utmost importance to us. The resurfacing of our fireplace required that the fireplace unit itself be moved a few inches without disturbing the plasma television above the fireplace or removing any walls or framing. The lay out of the marble tile required coming up with a unique way to join the edges so that the fireplace would fit the elegance of the room.
Although it has been well over a year since our project was completed, we have kept in touch with Peter and he has provided us with invaluable advice about the house and its various systems. Peter works with the best subcontractors in the area and we currently use a couple of them for general maintenance. Peter stands by his people and their work and will be a great friend to you and your home.
If we ever do another renovation or build a new house, we will forego the bid process and hire Vujovich Design Build.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Dennis Q.      4/18/2013

 

Project Description: Basement frame and finish – electrical, paint, etc
Member Comments: It went very well – started with the estimate, we thought it over for a while and then decided to move forward. Vujovich set up a timeline for the project and it began. The project manager was excellent and kept us informed at all times as to schedule, delays etc.

 

Yelp client reviews     Joe D.      4/17/2013      5-stars yelp

This is the consummate homebuilder. It was an excellent experience from beginning to end. Everyone was a good listener and met our expectations. “We can do that” was a familiar refrain. We had regular meetings during the construction process as well as the informal drop-in to check on progress. We met most every subcontractor so we had a “face” to connect with the tile setter, electrician, plumber, etc. Construction proceeded according to a strict timetable apart from change orders made on our part. The finished house met the expectations of us and our architect. There was never a harsh word, disagreement or disappointment.
A common comment among people who built a home is “It was an awful experience. I’ll never do it again”. On the contrary, we would.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Ross I.      4/17/2013

 

Project Description: New Home Construction

Member Comments: If you are going to invest in real estate and the comforts of a home, Vujovich uses a thoughtful process that may seem similar to others, but it is truly unique.
Once you move in, you will slowly notice that the way you “live” in your home is at an enjoyment level that is based on how they got you to arrive at your decisions. This collaboration and expertise reduces the anxiety of making decisions about your construction project, and you can’t really place a value on it. You either “get it” or you don’t. I am glad we “got it” because we were left with a home for our family that fits us perfectly.
It always confused me why people use the “wrong” criteria when choosing such a life changing event (such as building a home or a major remodel). A little more thoughtfulness and less analysis of per sq. ft. pricing tends to create more enjoyment while building, better outcomes of construction, and a “return of enjoyment” that for my family meant more in the long run.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Anne S.      10/1/2012

 

Project Description: Vujovich Design Build remodeled our existing 1915 Colonial and built an addition, including a bedroom, kitchen/breakfast/family room, a basement exercise and pool room, and outdoor sport court area.
Member Comments: Vujovich was amazing, from the initial meeting to project completion, they were extremely responsive, timely, and professional. They managed every little detail of the project, making the process much less stressful for us. The new, finished product is beautiful and seamless. We are thrilled with their team and work.

 

Angies List client reviews

     Matt P.      9/28/2012      Overall Grade: D

 

Project Description: We were looking for design ideas to freshen up our home built in 1968. We met with a salesperson to get ideas of what we wanted to bring back to their design team.
Member Comments: The initial consultation went alright. Our home is almost completely brick so we were having difficulty coming up with ideas to make our home look newer. This is the reason we looked for someone who specialized in exterior design. We explained to her that we weren’t really looking to do any additions or any major structural changes to our home. We were really looking for ideas on new windows, different exterior material on parts, brick staining, etc. Our home isn’t overly large but 4 bedroom 3 baths is plenty of space for our family as we only have one child. The salesperson wasn’t really hearing our needs as her ideas were an addition above the garage or extending the house toward the road. I again explained adding to the home wasn’t in our plans at this time. She assured us that was fine and that they do projects both large and small.
We got through the consultation and were excited to hear back on the designs they were able to come up with. She told us it would be a couple of weeks for the designs to be ready. After a month I called back to see how it was progressing. The salesperson wasn’t in but I was told she would call me back. It has now been 3 months and we haven’t heard back.
I can only conclude that our project wasn’t “large” enough for their time (even though we were told they do projects of all sizes) or the design team was unable to come up with suitable ideas. Admittedly this is a unique home and ideas for exterior remodel seem difficult, but this is the very reason we sought out a designer.

 

Angies List client reviews

     David Z.      9/28/2012

 

Project Description: Complete reconstruction of master bedroom bathroom down to plywood floors and stud walls. New fixtures, tile on walls and floors, cabinets, lighting, bathtub, reroute plumbing, and wood trim

Excellent quality of work for this turn key project. The household project where I did nothing.

Member Comments: Excellent project management with concern for cleanliness and minimal disruptions to household

 

Angies List client reviews

     David W. 9/28/2012      Overall Grade: B

 

Project Description: WE WERE LOOKING FOR A FIRM TO DESIGN AND BUILD-OUT THE UNFINISHED 2ND STORY OF OUR HISTORIC BUNGALOW. WE WANTED QUALITY, PERIOD WORK AT A PRICE WE COULD AFFORD. VUJOVICH IS A HIGH-END FIRM THAT DOES NEW CONSTRUCTION AS WELL AS LOTS OF REMODELING WORK IN KENWOOD

Member Comments: VUJOVICH WAS QUITE A BIT MORE CORPORATE IN FEEL THAN THE OTHER FIRMS WE CONTACTED. THEY SENT OUT CHRIS, WHO’D BEEN WORKING THERE AS A PROJECT MANAGER FOR LESS THAN A YEAR. SINCE I WAS LOOKING MORE FOR VERY PRELIMINARY NUMBERS THAN ANYTHING, HE TOOK SOME DIGITAL PICTURES BACK TO HIS DESIGNERS AND THEY CAME UP WITH VERY RUDIMENTARY SKETCHES ON WHICH TO BASE A CRUDE BUDGET. VUJOVICH PROVIDED MORE COST INFORMATION THAN JUST ABOUT ANYONE, ALTHOUGH THE BUDGET WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO READ, IT WAS BROKEN DOWN BY MATERIALS, RATHER THAN THE COST OF EACH ROOM. WHILE THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL, AND THEIR OVERHEAD RATE WAS AN ADMIRABLE 28%, WE DECIDED TO OPT FOR ANOTHER FIRM. CHRIS PROVIDED GREAT FOLLOW-UP.